Thursday, April 18, 2019

TYPECAST of Characters Blog Tour




I don't remember exactly when I met Sheri at Whole Circle Studio; but we caught up in person at QuiltCon one year and I have been lucky enough to run into one another a handful of times since then.

When she told me that she was working on a new project, and asked if I wanted to be a part of it, I didn't hesitate.

Using text in quilts and crafts has been around for a while now; but it seems to have found a resurgence lately and Sheri's TYPECAST is great if you are looking for on-the-go capabilities.

Her letters are all English Paper Pieced or EPP for those in the know.  This portable method of piecing together shapes is great and quite easy to put together, whether you prefer the glue-baste or thread-baste method. Finish it off with a little hand-sewing and there you have it.

She gave me the letter L, and off I went. 

TYPECAST of Characters Blog Tour // Sheri from Whole Circle Studio

I pulled an assortment of fabrics to use for my letter; but in the end I couldn't pass up using a low-volume print and the color red. 

As you can see in the photo above, each letter comes in a perforated sheet; which you can gently pull apart.  My letter was really easy to figure out what piece was which; but for the more complicated letters, I would suggest taking a photo or marking on the EPP paper what gets sewn to what, so things go together in the right order.


TYPECAST of Characters Blog Tour // Sheri from Whole Circle Studio

I haven't decided how I will finish off my letter; but for now...I'm calling it done. Each block measures approx. 6" x 9".

What word would you put on a quilt?


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Want to make your own TYPECAST letters, the pattern guide and paper packs are available at Sheri's shop



Want to see all of the other letters, and the projects that people began making with them? 
Visit any/all of the below to learn more.

And don't forget to check out #mytypecast #wholecirclestudio on Instagram.

TYPECAST OF CHARACTERS BLOG TOUR hosted by Whole Circle Studio:

• Wednesday, March 27: Tour Introduction by Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 1 — A: Kate Brennan of Aurifil
• Tuesday, April 2 — B: Mathew Bourdreaux of Mister Domestic
• Wednesday, April 3 — C: Tara Curtis of Wefty Needle
• Thursday, April 4— D: Leah Day of Free Motion Quilting Project
• Friday, April 5 — Week 1 Wrap Up featuring A-D and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 8 — E: Jess Finn of Paper Pieces
• Tuesday, April 9 — F: Sylvia Schaefer of Flying Parrot Quilts
• Wednesday, April 10 — G: Giuseppe Ribaudo of Giucy Giuce
• Thursday, April 11— H: Hilary Jordan of By Hilary Jordan
• Friday, April 12 — Week 2 Wrap Up featuring E-H and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 15 — I: Kim Soper of Leland Ave Studios
• Tuesday, April 16 — J: Yvonne Fuchs of Quilting Jetgirl
• Wednesday, April 17 — K: Karen O’Connor of Lady K Quilts
• Thursday, April 18 — L: Kristy Daum of St. Louis Folk Victorian
• Friday, April 19 — Week 3 Wrap Up featuring I-L and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 22 — M: Molli Sparkles of Molli Sparkles
• Tuesday, April 23 — N: Nicole Daksiewicz of Modern Handcraft
• Wednesday, April 24 — O: Scott Hansen of Blue Nickel Studios
• Thursday, April 25 — P: Pat Sloan of Pat Sloan
• Friday, April 26 — Week 4 Wrap Up featuring M-P and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 29 — Q: Joanna Marsh of Kustom Kwilts
• Monday, April 29 — Q: Lindsay Széchényi of Lindsay Széchényi (and Patchwork Threads)
• Tuesday, April 30 — R: Andrea Tsang Jackson of 3rd Story Workshop
• Wednesday, May 1 — S: Sarah Thomas of Sariditty
• Thursday, May 2 — T: Rachel Rossi of Rachel Rossi
• Friday, May 3— Week 4 Wrap Up featuring Q-T and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, May 6 — U: Kitty Wilkin of Night Quilter
• Tuesday, May 7 — V: Jenn McMillan of Fabric, Ink
• Wednesday, May 8 — W: Jenny Meeker of Bobbin Roulette Studio
• Thursday, May 9 — X: Stephanie Kendron of Modern Sewciety
• Friday, May 10 — Week 5 Wrap Up featuring U-X and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, May 13 — Y: Debby Brown of Debby Brown Quilts
• Tuesday, May 14 — Z: Nisha Bouri and Kim Martucci of Brimfield Awakening
• Wednesday, May 15 — Week 6 Wrap Up featuring Y-Z, Tour closeout and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio